While everybody is talking about the elections and which government would come and about how is congress better or bjp and about how AAP would do things, something happened the other day which led to a question.
A few days back, late Saturday morning , I got up later than usual and there was no milk at home. I cribbed about the fact that I forgot to take milk and about how bad the day had started. I read the newspaper and found it full of articles related to AAP and elections and what not. And like any other normal Indian, I started finding faults in one govt or the other and started saying to myself that its the governments fault that India is not progressing and that everyone is corrupt etc.
Then finally with a heavy heart, cribbing about my routine, Indian system and what not , I started from home to get milk. I put up in a flat in semi-urban area with some slums around.. that afternoon children of the low income localities were dressed up and were going to some school. By chance my eyes fell on a little boy and I noticed that he was going very very slow. Then I saw, he was all dressed up but his right foot was twisted. He was having difficulty in walking, but still he was walking with a smile without any help because he wanted to go to school.
I had tears in my eyes and pride for that boy who wanted to study.
How many of us have cribbed about studying.. I think almost everyone! That time I realised that I was comparing governments and finding faults,etc but what have I done for India's progress? You might say that we pay taxes and we do our jobs and increase country's revenue. But, isn't that because we are self centred? Have we ever cared about what are we doing? I think honest answer would be no!
In that boy I found hope.. I realised that no matter how much we care about other things , because of such beings as that boy, India will someday be developed!
Also, I feel its time, instead of talking about which party would make us pay less taxes or which offers us more benefits, we should think about India first!
Jai hind.
Monday, February 24, 2014
Let's make India first.
Let's make India first.
While everybody is talking about the elections and which government would come and about how is congress better or bjp and about how AAP would do things, something happened the other day which led to a question.
A few days back, late Saturday morning , I got up later than usual and there was no milk at home. I cribbed about the fact that I forgot to take milk and about how bad the day had started. I read the newspaper and found it full of articles related to AAP and elections and what not. And like any other normal Indian, I started finding faults in one govt or the other and started saying to myself that its the governments fault that India is not progressing and that everyone is corrupt etc.
Then finally with a heavy heart, cribbing about my routine, Indian system and what not , I started from home to get milk. I put up in a flat in semi-urban area with some slums around.. that afternoon children of the low income localities were dressed up and were going to some school. By chance my eyes fell on a little boy and I noticed that he was going very very slow. Then I saw, he was all dressed up but his right foot was twisted. He was having difficulty in walking, but still he was walking with a smile without any help because he wanted to go to school.
I had tears in my eyes and pride for that boy who wanted to study.
How many of us have cribbed about studying.. I think almost everyone! That time I realised that I was comparing governments and finding faults,etc but what have I done for India's progress? You might say that we pay taxes and we do our jobs and increase country's revenue. But, isn't that because we are self centred? Have we ever cared about what are we doing? I think honest answer would be no!
In that boy I found hope.. I realised that no matter how much we care about other things , because of such beings as that boy, India will someday be developed!
Also, I feel its time, instead of talking about which party would make us pay less taxes or which offers us more benefits, we should think about India first!
Jai hind.
Monday, February 10, 2014
Fights are good!
Yes I know you are thinking this girl has gone mad! She thinks fights are good! How is that possible :P
But you know if you ask me.. I think sometimes fights are good..
You know when you have any relationship.. not particularly girlfriend boyfriend.. but any relationship for that matter.. you basically are sharing some part of your life through that relationship; you are sharing some part of yourself through that relationship..isn't it amazing how relationships can bring two strangers together! :D
Anyways, coming back to the topic, so yeah relationships do impact your life and who you evolve into in a big way!
If i see it, a relationship is a bonding between people with different thoughts and different mind set.. as we can be sure even identical twins don't have the same nature and thought process so yes! Two people are not exactly same! And because of the same reason i guess it is important to understand how the other person thinks, responds, feels...It gives a depth to relationships :)
And when you think about understanding the thought process I guess most of the times when we stay happy with other people, we are not exactly being ourselves.. literally! like there is always a part of us who is faking in some way or the other just to make the other person happy or what so ever the reason be :P
But when you have fights and all the truth comes out.. you get mad and unhappy and sad and literally think OMG! Why the hell am I in this relationship! Why me everytime! etc etc
You sleep over it.. you eat over it.. no matter how hard you may try still you were seriously in that relationship you would surely have a thought about why the fight happened..and if you are me you would think even more about what was the other person's perspective.. what could you have done so that it wouldn't have accelerated to this stage! What could be the areas you could improve in so that you could understand people better and have successful and better relationships and help them to help you become a better person :)
So basically fights help you look closer and deeper inside that person.. closer and deeper inside yourself and accept your flaws and other persons thought process.. They get you closer and more firmly bonded into this relationship and in the long term help you have a good and satisfied life :)
So, like "daag ache hein" in the same way, "Fights bhi achi hein" :D On this note, good night :)
Wednesday, February 5, 2014
They say marriages are made in heaven
Today's post is something different. It's about a seemingly simple yet complicated relationship.. that we all (especially girls) fantasize about.. something we like to think about and dream about.. If you are a girl, I bet you would understand what I am talking about :)
Have you ever dreamed about the day you would get married? Do you fantasize about the way your marriage would be.. the kind of dress you would wear? The kind of altar you would stand at and take your vows?
Many of us must have done it at some time or the other. Yes, I know many of you who tend to be very cool types won't tend to agree. But ask yourself and you'll know the answer. :)
Has it ever occurred to you why do we actually think about this topic? Like why not fantasize about taking a world tour or being the CEO of the company or becoming a politician or a writer or a Hollywood actor?
We all have a common fantasy about marriage. Ever thought about why is getting married so important to us? Yes apart from the answers the naughty minds at work might give :P
If you think about it, marriage is a very weird kind of a relationship.. in the age where you get a guarantee of even a pizza delivery, it is something which comes without any guarantee or warranty. It is an example of god's miraculous work where two people who have grown up separately a quarter of their lives.. may have different tastes, habits, thoughts, priorities, basically different lives.. just get bonded till next 3 quarters of their lives! Somehow you just start trusting the person who was a stranger the previous day! I mean wow! Amazing, isn't it?
I don't know about you but I think i had started dreaming about my big day many years ago.. i think the idea struck when i was at a wedding and i observed how happy the bride and the groom were.. and how beautiful they looked.. and the whole celebration.. everything had just an impact on me.. You know we dream about many things.. I remember dreaming about a wedding about which everybody would say "omg! What a wedding! How much they love each other! What a lovely bride" and the list goes on :P
If you ask me today when almost a quarter of a century of my life has passed.. I still dream.. :)
I don't have any clear pictures of me.. but i still fantasize how the one will ask me to marry him.. how will that moment be.. How his eyes would be when he sees me in the bridal wear on our wedding day.. I guess every girl does that :D
But I'm afraid too.. Staying independently for quite some time now and having a set routine.. with work and life getting boring by the day.. I don't know how it would be to get along with a different person..
I don't know if in the first place, anybody will ever come and ask me that special question.. I don't know how would we react to the difference in opinions.. how would we go about carrying out the day to day and routine tasks of a married couple.. i don't know how would we split the responsibilities.. if we would do that or not.. i don't know how would it be to suddenly start living with a family again after living with people who are not family for a couple of years.. questions are many..
You know when i browse through facebook.. i see every other day the happy lives of married people..
I sometimes wonder what does it take to make a happy and everlasting marriage?
Is it the ability to compromise or change yourself? (which is like not being you ) or is it because we stay half of the time away like in office so the minimal time we spend with each other (apart from sleeping) is so minimal that we can just pass it..? Or is it hanging out together for a lot of time? or staying like room mates having own lives ? Sometimes you have so much of uncertainties in life! It becomes very hard to even fantasize and imagine your dream world.. :(
I do sometimes dream of an ever lasting marriage.. but then start having my what ifs and buts.. sometimes it makes you so helpless that you can't see your future. :P
Anyways,
I can't say if I'll ever have that dream marriage.. but I do hope that I have a good one.. that someday somebody do ask me that special question.. and that whenever he looks at me i see in his eyes, deep love and the willingness to stand by me and accept me as the person I am..
I've still not found out what takes it to have a happy marriage..I guess it would come with experience :D
Till then,
Good night.